Latino/Latino Rights

Fat No More: A Teenager’s Victory Over Obesity

Alberto Hidalgo-Robert, Arte Publico Press, May of 2012 (Latino Memoir)

From the low point of his descent into obesity hell, Hidalgo-Robert chronicles how he was able to take hold of his life, reinvent himself and become a model for other teenagers who are battling weight issues.

8 Ways to Say I Love My life – 8 Ways Writers Group

Arte Publico Press, November of 2012 (Latino Self-Help)

An uplifting collection of autobiographical stories from eight Latinas who share their life lessons to inspire others to discover their personal power.

The Pitcher – William Hazelgrove

Koehler Books, Fall of 2013 (Latino Fiction)

In the tradition of The Natural and The Field of Dreams, this is a mythic story about how a man and a boy meet in the crossroads of their life and find a way to go on.

The Intriguing Life of Ximena Godoy – Graciela Limon

Café con Leche Books/May of 2015 (Latino Fiction)

Revenge and murder define Ximena Godoy’s story

The Latino book market was flourishing until the economic downturn hit. Every well-established, conglomerate publisher had its own imprint dedicated to publishing Latino-themed books in English and Spanish by a wide spectrum of authors. As the economy continued its downward spiral, these imprints were among the first to go, so the number of books geared toward Latino readership being published declined.


Slowly but surely, the Latino book market is coming out of this stagnation period. Once the economy improves, the demand for these books will climb again and there will be a phenomenal increase in the number of Spanish and English traditional and e-books published in the next decade.


One of the most popular genres among Latinos has always been and shall continue to be women's fiction, suspense thrillers, and literary family dramas. Latina readers love sinking their teeth into a well-written romance novel full of sexual tension, while their male counterparts are more prone to pick up mystery and suspense thrillers. Since family is extremely important to Latinos,compelling family dramas, ala Isabel Allende and Oscar Hijuelos, will always be welcomed with open arms. In the nonfiction arena, self-help books have always been of interest to Latinos. Twenty-first century Latinos really want to improve their lot in life. They are concerned about their health, so they crave health and diet books. They want to advance in their careers and climb the corporate ladder, so naturally business-related books are of special interest to them. Latina women are interested in reading books about how they can improve themselves, their relationships, and how to be more organized. The future looks rather promising for the Latino book market. I predict that the unfair Latino stereotypes of the past will finally be shunned paving the way for a new breed of male and female Latino characters in fiction and narrative nonfiction. Latinos are moving up in the world and should be depicted as such. In the future, as a literary agent and publishing consultant who specializes in the Latino book market, I hope to see Latinas portrayed as CEO's of their own companies or brilliant nuclear scientists. On the other side of the fence, I would love to read about a Latino "James Bond" or "Bill Gates


Contact Us

Leticia Gomez 302.450.4494 x 204
leticiagomez@ascendantgroupbranding.com
Ascendant Publishing offers the best self help, business, young adult, suspense, and latino representation. Leticia Gomez is a literary agent experienced in helping self help, business, young adult, suspense, and latino books find the best self help, business, young adult, suspense, and latino publishers. Ascendant also offers marketing support for self help, business, young adult, suspense, and latino authors. As a literary agent professional for self help, business, young adult, suspense, and latino authors. Leticia Gomez offers the best literary agent representation.